nomadink.blogg.se

Mjg eightball paid my dues
Mjg eightball paid my dues












A listening preference that ultimately influenced much of Western and Southern rap, but that’s another story. While your typical East Coast head may have held on to tapes because that was what bootleggers sold and that was how you made your music portable, in other regions tapes were popular for a very specific reason. If you got any records from these places released between the mid-’80s and -’90s, chances are a solid percentage of them are tapes. There existed markets where tapes were the dominant format for rap music, sometimes well into the nineties. And I’m not so much talking about the homemade and handed down mixtapes and show tapings that helped spread hip-hop to all four corners of the world, but about legit tape releases. Little did I realize back then that another medium was just as crucial to hip-hop as old fashioned vinyl and handy CD’s. I personally switched to compact discs when I realized not every album I wanted would see a vinyl release. If you cared about covers, about A and B sides, about direct access to any part of the record, if you knew what the DJ historically meant to hip-hop, if you believed digital was inferior to analog, if you appreciated the art of scratching, then you bought wax. For years the vinyl record has been hailed as hip-hop’s most precious raw material. Keep space agein, and we'll forever be.Įightball, the fat mack, and.M-J G.Some myths are particularly persistent. Make one of them weed smokin, gangsta get to thisĮxpand, give all my true fans what they demandĭo my part again and uhh. Put them on the guest list, make them pump their fist and get buck to this Small clubs and small towns think they bouncin, and we find them Pimp some hoes, and.snorted a little coke.but uhh.Įightball, the fat mack, and.M-J Turn the page, from then to now, and we still grindin

mjg eightball paid my dues

Hard head, young don't believe that til I see that See them heavyweight niggas, one day, I'm gonna be that Ok, everybody know everybody done sold dope, ran with a gang Niggas all in the parkin lot, bustin shots, with hoes Get buck wild, start a fight, the police make a stop the show To all my vets in the game, I got love, stay on your toesĬause back in the days, I use to use your 4-5 instrumental to do my showsĪnd look, I was 17 - when I signed my first contractĪnd about 18 1/2 when I signed my worst contract, we hurt from thatĪnd til this day, they still distributin - our first tapeīefore Comin Out Hard, now can you feel it?īe humble and patient with whatever you should chooseĬause, to get to where I am right now, I don't paid my dues.Ĭ-note for a concert, I know that sounds preposterous we didn't have a pot to So we got on stage and we rocked the the chee$e, I love to see.My niggas in the front row

mjg eightball paid my dues

It was like a time they looked over Tennesseee, Who can make it in this rap, I thought that they ain't go see me in Memphis Strictly stickin to my dreams, but feelin like I'd be the last dude I can remember in the past closin down at fast foods We even put it down on some of our homeboys jail release dates In the process of doing talent shows, parties, and mix tapes With a remark like, "Hey, played that instrumental, you cat's got potential." Not knowin, but havin faith on just how long that it would beīefore I made it, before somebody picked up my tape and played it It was obvious, I had to give up the streets - for the beats In the middle of doin crime (Uggh), it never stopped me from writin rhymes My life would have been done got cut off if the dues weren't paid. Niggas dead, niggas gone, I still ain't afraid.Īin't too grown to get back on with ghetto games I played Maybe I been made a man from all the mistakes I made My momma and daddy was too young to raise me right. Ghetto ain't left me no choices, I had to fight It's ah, skinnin lines between wrong and right Then hopped to a grasshopper my life would have been done got cut off. Since we were two young playas in a one horse town

mjg eightball paid my dues

Yeah, Yeah.Space Age forever.Niggas and hoes better recognizeĮightball & MJG.been ten toes down in this game














Mjg eightball paid my dues